get app
Sign Up
Log In
Sign Up
Log In

Phone icon
Get App
Artists & VenuesPromotersHelp
Søjus1 Tickets, Tour Dates and Concerts


FILM CONCERT »The New Babylon«

Streaming on
Live Stream

Dec 6th, 2022

7:00 PM UTC
Søjus1 Tickets, Tour Dates and Concerts
About this concert
Søjus1 presents a film concert produced for bandcamp. The Dresden duo plays their own film music in sync with the silent film »The New Babylon«. You can hear new compositions as well as special versions of HALO, PYNG, LYKA, 013, 005, 007 and 032. As a guest musician they have invited Marc Hartmann (trombone). The premiere of this film concert took place on the occasion of the special exhibition "KRIEG MACHT NATION" as part of the DAVE Festival in the Military History Museum of the Bundeswehr in Dresden. »The New Babylon« Against the background of the suppression of the Paris Commune in 1871, the film tells the story of Louise and Jean, their love in times of the open class struggle has no chance. Louise, a saleswoman in the department store ›The New Babylon‹ is a committed communard, Jean, a politically inexperienced young man from the country, is a soldier in the French army and is forced to fight the Commune. THE NEW BABYLON thrives on its furious tempo and caricatural exaggeration. In densely composed tableaus, based on the images of the French Impressionists and Zola's novels, life in Paris is recreated in Leningrad. The directing duo Kosinzew & Trauberg developed a unique film aesthetic with a radical montage whose experimental character makes you forget the smoothing interventions of the censors. Credits: Written by: Leonid Trauberg Grigori Kosinzew Cast: David Gutmann Sergei Gerassimow Camera: Jewgeni Michailow Andrej Moskwin Directed by: Leonid Trauberg Grigori Kosinzew Produced in 1929 in the USSR With kind permission by absolut MEDIEN.
Show More
Discover more artists to follow & sync your music
Find your faves

Share Event

Søjus1 Biography

Band between jazzy beats and psycho synths.
Read More
Progressive Rock
Leftfield Hiphop
Follow artist
Help Søjus1 keep making the music you love.